Hello world!

Welcome to Macromite @ WordPress.com.

3 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. wordgeezer Says:

    Excellent blog Macromite

    I arrived here while looking for information on bee populations, which lead to ants, where I linked to mites. Needless to mention I’m mitey surprised to see the profoundly detailed pictures of these exotic lifeforms.

    Being a senior, you might call me an organic web crawler, citizen I am once more overwhelmed by too much information. Especially after after experiencing the excellent documentation on the ant blog i just left.

    What I am really looking for is studies on wild bees, wasps, and ants to see if they are affected by our changing environment like the European Honey Bee is.

    Cheers….G:

  2. Jonathan Wojcik Says:

    Absolutely love this blog. Couldn’t find an e-mail address to get ahold of you, I have a couple of questions:

    First, do you ever let us other writers/bloggers use your images? I’m not yet a scientist myself, but I write a lot about unusual animals for my site (by laymen, for laymen I guess), and would eventually like to do a massive list of mites with the most specific and surprising lifestyles. I wish I could find photos of Larvamimidae, have you ever seen any personally?

    Second, there’s a sort of mite I have both read about and seen on a television documentary, but neither source was even scientific enough to give a name! It covers itself in detritus and preys upon other mites by apparently spitting out a string of mucus to reel them in. Maybe a few mites match this description…do any Latin names come to mind?

    • macromite Says:

      Hi Jonathan,

      I often allow one-off use of my images with acknowlegements for educational purposes or for a commercial purpose (but then a fee is usually required). You can let me know here if there is an image you are interested in using and its purpose.

      I’ve never seen a live larvamimid, alas.

      I don’t know of any detritus-covered, mucus-spitting predatory mite. The only mucus-spitting predators I can think of are onychoporans (Peripatus etc.), but they aren’t mites and the ones I have seen have smooth cuticle. Some predatory mites do ‘spit’ silk to capture prey (e.g. Spinibdella), but they don’t cover themselves in detritus. As far as I know, the mites that do cover themselves in detritus are either fungivores or predators that use their chelicerae to capture prey. Maybe I should do a posting on detritus-covered mites.

Leave a Reply

